Amsterdam | 15 - 17 November 2023

About DAME Design Awards


The DAME Design Awards was launched in 1991 to promote design in all disciplines and to recognise the best-designed products at the METSTRADE Show. Its unique relevance in the global marine marketplace has grown in parallel with the explosion in awareness of design in the world around us, from cars and architecture to fashion and consumer goods. In making its judgements the jury seeks to emphasise the importance of design for all marine products, from function to aesthetics and from packaging to the end product.

The DAME jury also considers the expected impact on the marine industry of entries, their suitability for intended purpose, the level of innovation, cost, ease of use or installation and environmental impact. Up to seven Category Winners and the Overall Winner are chosen from the nominated entries. Products that the Jury considers to be exceptional, but which do not win the award in their category, will be given a Special Mention.”

The winners of the DAME Design Award 2022 were announced during the Breakfast Briefing on Tuesday 15 november 2022 displayed in the middle of the exhibition floor in hall 13.

Entry for 2023 will be open as from July 2023. 


The DAME Design Award Jury carefully assess entries for overall design, build quality, functionality, and use of materials. Other factors taken into account are originality, ergonomics, and price/quality ratio.

Meet the jury members

DAME Award Winner 2022

Ocean Signal RescueME PLB3 AIS Personal Locator Beacon by Ocean Signal

Jury Chair Andre Hoek presented the world-renowned DAME Design Award 2022 to the Ocean Signal RescueME PLB3 AIS Personal Locator Beacon. In reaching its decision, the Jury recognised that the harnessing of multiple technologies in such a small unit, attention to design in every detail and Ocean Signal’s determination to make already good products into better ones to maximise the chance of saving lives made the RescueME PLB3 AIS Personal Locator Beacon its standout DAME Design Award 2022 winner.

Read all about the DAME Winners